Share:

The KDS shows menu items to all cooking areas in all kind of statuses coming from all sections where the Display items on kitchen screen option is enabled. 

But the hot shop staff doesn’t want to see cold shop items. Similarly, some items may be hidden from the screen due to their status. For this, use filters in the Settings section.

Shop Filter

Suppose there is a screen installed in a hot shop where you don’t need cold shop items to be displayed. For this, tap Settings, disable unwanted shops and tap OK.

Each shop may have a color assigned in the KDS Settings of a section.

The number of items to be cooked in this shop is given on the left-hand side of the screen.

Status Filter

Use it to hide certain menu items.

For instance, at the wait station, you need all menu items to be displayed save for the served ones. You can only see them in a special Recall mode. A chef should see all the dishes except for prepared ones. Prepared dishes must be displayed to a chef only in the Recall mode, whereas served ones are not shown at all.

To hide cooked items, for instance, tap Settings and disable the Ready status, then tap OK.

You can set up the status display for the recall mode:

  • If you see this arrow icon next to the status, it means that an item (if in this status) is displayed in the recall mode and its status can be changed.
  • If there is no arrow, it means that such items are not displayed in the recall mode. And when such items take the next status, they disappear from the kitchen screen.

The recall mode is used to adjust the status of items if it was set by mistake. For details, please refer to the Items, Courses, Orders article.

Kitchen Work Mode 

The cooking standard time depends on the kitchen work mode—standard or peak hour. You can toggle between these modes according to schedule or manually. 

For how to set up your kitchen schedule, see the Setup article.

You can set the kitchen schedule manually. For this, in the Settings window, tap the SCHEDULE button. It will no longer be highlighted with yellow.

When it comes time to switch to the peak hour mode, tap . It will be highlighted with yellow.

To go back to the regular mode, open the Settings again and tap the PEAK HOUR button to remove the highlighting.

Cooking Countdown 

By default, the screen shows how much time (in minutes) left before passing an item to the wait station—a countdown from the standard cooking time till zero, and then it shows the negative elapsed time. And the filter has the Countdown option enabled.


Standard Cooking Time Countdown

If you want you can set the elapsed cooking time meter: tap the COUNTDOWN TIMER button to remove the highlighting. The time will be counted from zero to the standard cooking time and beyond.


Standard Cooking Time Metering By Elapsed Time

Paid Items Display Time 

Menu items are not removed from the kitchen screen even if an order is paid or deleted or a till shift is closed. Cooking statuses and order statuses become independent once items are printed to the kitchen. An order might have been paid or even deleted while an item is being cooked or still in the queue.

To avoid overflowing of the kitchen screen, paid items can be automatically removed. After some time, all items are removed from the kitchen screen regardless of their status. This time can be specified in the iikoFront configuration file. Use the section printing settings row: <kitchenOrderObsolescenceDuration>.

The verification of the item timeout and deletion from the kitchen screen is started automatically at a specified interval, which can be specified in the <obsoleteKitchenOrderCleanupPeriod> row.

The starting point for the timeout is determined as follows. Order closing time is compared to the most recent activity in the kitchen, and the system picks the larger value to be set as the reference point. When the specified time (running from the reference point) is over, an item is removed.

A till shift can be closed and order deleted. In this case, the timeout is counted from the order closing time. If an order is not closed, the countdown begins either from the current time or from the time of the most recent activity in the kitchen.

When you set the paid orders retention time, keep in mind that a chef must have enough time to correct any mistakes made when changing the dish status. If a chef has cooked a wrong dish, they must have enough time to cook the right dish.

Q: What happens to items if iikoFront is restarted?

A: After the restart, all menu items will be restored based on the orders made at your venue if not removed. Items are restored if the paid orders retention time is not over yet.

Q: What happens to items if an order is canceled?

A: If an order is canceled, items (including removed ones) will appear on the kitchen screen again in the READY status.